multivxrse-theory:

yourbestfriendkoschei:

Im sorry…” he breaths out, his eyes stinging from holding back the tears.

“I was trying to get your attention… it worked in the past, i mean, you are a
spit-fire, one that never ignores a come-back… most of the time… so i thought it would work now as well…” he told her.

He hesitates… and then takes her hand gently, leaning his forehead against it so that she didn’t have to see his tears. "I- I’m sorry Theta…“ he says with genuine regret. "I’m sorry that I’ve been such a pain and did go about getting your attention in the right way.” A tear falls on her hand, no matter how much he tries to hold it back.

Two desires in equal measure; one urging her to pull back and leave, the other tugging her forwards to lean in and forgive him – and this balance of forces means she doesn’t move at all, muscles taut, straight, and unmoving beyond a slight twitch of the jaw.

His tear rolls down her hand and a shiver shudders through her at the touch. A tired, bitter, brain tries to organise its thoughts into coherent sentences. “I – can’t tell ya it’s okay,” she murmurs at last, “cause it’s not. Not in the slightest. But it was all true, and I couldn’t bear ta hear it…” She moves, to curl into the cushions of the sofa, to bury her face in them. 

“It is my fault…ALL of it…and I’m so, so sorry…” The Doctor’s small frame starts to shake violently with sobs. “I was so lost and desperate, I needed my friend. And I went about it…all wrong…”

His head shot up at her tears and he quickly clambers onto the sofa, wanting to see her cry. He pulled her into his arms, wrapping them tightly around her, not caring that he would probably be cold to the touch. He gently runs a hand through her hair, giving in to his more gentle side.

“We… we are both at fault here.” he murmurs, rocking them both.
“I- I forgive you Theta… i forgive you, for your past mistakes…
its been a year… and i guess we needed this.. to finally let it out…”
He kissed the top of her head.

Leave a comment